4 of the best books every leader should read by Brené Brown

Want to know which Brene Brown books you should read to become the best leader possible?

Brene Brown is an experienced academic and researcher who rose to fame in 2011 after she led a TEDx talk in Houston. The theme of her speech was “The Power of Vulnerability,” and it shortly went viral. It’s considered one of the best TEDx talks of all time.

Brene Brown has challenged the notion of a conventional leader – someone who hides their vulnerability so that they can exude control and perfection at all times. 

Best-selling NY Times author Brene Brown challenges this idea by exploring the power of vulnerability and imperfections and how it can help people become courageous and mindful leaders. Brene Brown’s books showcase the power of being brave enough to show up even when you’re not in control of the outcome.

In this blog post, we’ll discuss four books by Brene Brown that you should definitely read.

The Gifts of Imperfection

The Gifts of Imperfection shows you how to understand and embrace your imperfections, weaknesses, and flaws. In doing so, you can accept your true self and let go of an image of perfection. The book mentions: “let go of who you think you’re supposed to be and embrace who you are.” This way, you can dismiss the importance of living up to other people’s expectations, especially when they diverge from who you are. 

The book also explores how perfectionism is self-destructive and an addictive belief system that people can use to avoid feelings of shame, judgment, and blame. But everyone experiences moments of embarrassment and discontent. When we learn how to recognize these feelings and be honest with ourselves, we can genuinely emerge from these moments and see our worth. 

Daring Greatly

This is one of the best books by Brene Brown that explores shame and the different categories of it. These categories include: 

  • Religion
  • Aging
  • Addition 
  • Family 
  • Parenting
  • Appearance and body image
  • Money and career
  • Trauma
  • And more

As a leader, you need to acknowledge that you’re only human and imperfections, fears, and shame are necessary elements that can help you move forward and improve yourself. Brene mentions that a courageous leader isn’t afraid to see someone for who they genuinely are. 

Many leaders are afraid of listening and really understanding their employees and, in turn, their employees’ concerns and feelings. Once managers and leaders genuinely understand themselves, they can start appreciating their employees. 

Rising Strong

Rising Strong is one of the best Brene Brown books and encourages you to embrace who you are and stop comparing yourself to others. If you constantly compare yourself to others, you won’t be able to experience growth, creativity, and joy. 

This ideal can also be applied to some managers and how they view employees. Leaders often compare employees to one another even though the work environment isn’t equal or stable. Additionally, every employee is unique – every person has unique emotions, skills, backgrounds, experiences, and more. 

When managers stop comparing employees to one another, they’ll see each employee’s distinct qualities and transform into more mindful leaders.

Dare to Lead

Brene Brown Dare to Lead is a book filled with actionable advice on how to lead an honest, vulnerable, and courageous life. It can help anyone find meaning in their work. Additionally, it can help companies promote an accountable, vulnerable, and transparent workplace through honesty, understanding, and mindful leadership.

If you’re looking to become a better leader or help your employees unlock their potential, visit the Corporate Class website today.

We’ve been helping Fortune 500 companies uncover human potential through world-class workshops, scalable learning solutions, private coaching, etc.

Visit our Dare to Lead page to discover how to become a mindful and courageous leader, as mentioned in the Brene Brown books.